Graphic of the BEP Seal

Bureau of Engraving and Printing
U.S. Department of the Treasury

Pictured below: 15th street side of BEP building in Washington, DC with American flag in foreground.
Site Search

Making American History 
220 Years Ago
The first United States Mint building, circa 1792.
The United States Mint was established by an Act of Congress on April 2, 1792.  Learn more with their historical timeline, interactive timeline, and kids’ interactive timeline. Visit the United States Mint's website for activities relating to coins.
150 Years Ago
The first Bureau of Engraving and Printing building, circa 1880.
In 1862, the Treasury Department was authorized to engrave and print currency.  Learn more with our historical timeline and BEP History Booklet.  Learn about BEP Directors and how they shaped the organization.

Below is a list of some of the elder statesmen and former presidents that circulating coins and currency have in common.
Benjamin Franklin (Designer of the Continental Dollar)
George Washington (First President)
Thomas Jefferson (Third President)
Abraham Lincoln (Sixteenth President)
Andrew Jackson (Seventh President)
Ulysses Grant (Eighteenth President)
Image of a $20 Federal Reserve Note and an Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 Coin
For a complete list of common currency and coin design elements, download the BEP-Mint Common Currency-Coin Design Elements Matrix.[PDF]